Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Rig New Project
Well it all started with a dream. A dream to drive a tiller. Firefighters are like big kids. I am a firefighter and have always been fascinated with ladder truck. To narrow it down more Tillers. I live 2 hours from the nearest Tiller in Indiana. Last summer (August 26th, 2017) while planning the 2017 New Haven Indiana fire Muster many members of the Muster committee stated they always wanted to drive a tiller. Well the Muster went better than ever expected and it was time to move on to the next dream before the 2018 Muster planning started.

So in September part of the Tiller Team traveled to Hollywood Florida to look at buying a TDA they had for sale. It was decided it would not make the 1000 plus mile trip back home. So the search continued. Several weeks later we had our truck. Purchased was Old Phoenix, AZ TDA Ladder 20. It was very dirty and needed a lot of TLC. It was missing several things mainly a passenger seat. The rig was drove from Utah to Indiana over 3 days. 

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Members of the Tiller team have  spent hundreds of hours scrubbing every inch of the truck. It has taken hundreds of hours to replace missing or broken parts on the rig. As of today it is in the home stretch of getting ready for the 2018 muster season. here is a pic of the inside of the cab when we got it.   

Attached Files Image(s)

The cab has been cleaned metal storage boxes have been removed and matching seat was installed. I had to make the brackets from scratch. 

Attached Files Image(s)

New matching passenger seat installed. Also originally where the stainless steel piece is they had very dirty carpet. It was removed and The stainless was installed to match the stock drivers area.  

Attached Files Image(s)